18 and I have more than many but feel like I have nothing.

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by Ruby18incrisis, Mar 1, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hello,
    This is a new experience for me posting on a website like this. I dont know if this will help me or make me feel different about anything at all but I think its just useful to share my story with others in case it relates to anyone else and helps them to not feel so alone.

Im eighteen years old and I am currently studying to be a paediatric nurse :) My Childhood years have been an up and down rollercoaster of pain, rejection depression and confusion. Im adopted , I was adopted at the age of fourteen months so mum was mum and dad was dad and my two brothers were my brothers, even though thiers no blood relationship. Ive always know that I was adopted but ive never know the details surrounding it precisely til my eighteenth birthday. My relationship with my adoptive family has always been a shambles. MY mum has a superiority complex and has been abusive towards me both physically and mentally. The abuse started when I was old enough to remember first a few slaps then escalated into bigger more psychological abuse such as eating my food off the floor in a dog bowl and eating my own vomit and being forced to bath in very cold water. My dad turned a blind eye to the abuse and I felt like I couldnt split up the only family I have. Bed time was nine o clock latest when i was 17 , it increased every hour with each year that i grew up. I never saw my friends outside of school. I went to a girls school and was bullied relentlessly for having red hair and being very quiet. There was no safe haven except in reading. I would read up to twenty books in three days and lose myself in my studies. I managed to leave year eleven with 6a's two a*s three BS and a C, an impressive result . At the age of fourteen I began dating a guy who was 19 but I didnt know this at the time. Aft