A Question...I am new to this.

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by CheckingOut, Jun 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CheckingOut

CheckingOut New Member

Hi, Everyone;

I posted this question in another thread, but no one responded, perhaps because the rules here preclude that.

I am new in this forum, I was hoping (based upon the name of the forum) that it would be a place where all elements of suicide could be discussed - pros, cons, etc....

However, it would appear that this forum is dedicated soley to the PREVENTION of suicide, which I wholeheartedly support.

But there are situations and circumstances where suicide is an entirely rational option, and really is the "right" thing to do. This is the case in my situation.

What I am looking for is a place where I can find information on various aspects of suicide with regard to the legal implications, insurance issues, things that I might be forgetting about taking care of before I go, etc.

I am not a teenager in the midst of angst or a broken heart....I am in my 50's, and have come to understand that it is in my best interests and the best interests of those around me for me to depart. The reasons are not important, but what I am finding interesting is the LACK of information available for those who have, in fact, arrived at the clear, sane, and mature decision that their life should terminate.

There are so many issues to be resolved, and since it is such a "taboo" subject, no one seems to want to provide the answers.

I am curious to know what others think about this. Not every life is worth saving; many are, and those need to be offered help and encouragement.

But for people in my situation, there just simply does NOT seem to be a place to go where I can discuss this.