About meds...

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by Old_Man_Kensey, May 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Old_Man_Kensey

Old_Man_Kensey Well-Known Member

I have never used meds myself although i have had my hard times...I am a medical student and i want to say some things about drugs

Where i come from there are not many ppl who are prescribed with meds for mental illnesses and psychological disorders.I ve been talking with ppl here and there and i found out that this is not the case for the other countries, which is sad.

First of all, i assume that we all have been through depression here, as this is a suicide forum.Depression is sth normal that everybody goes through when they are dissatisfied by their lives or when some tragic events take place like death or bunkrupcy.Depression however is not an illness.Chronic depression is.

Chronic depression increases stress and the frequency of panic attack incidents, which can cause mental illness and psychosomatic illnesses such as diabetes, heart disease, acme, increased blood pressure, colon diseases etc

The first thing to do is let those close to you know that u have chronic depression.Chronic depression has certain symptoms such as sleep abnormalities, memory problems, you might get tears in your eyes often,you might be unable to concentrate etc.Depression is very common, so you should not thing it s taboo and try to hide it.Let people who can help know while it s early.

If the words of sympathy and support can t help you after some significant amount of time, then turn to a therapist or support groups.Try to talk with people who can understand you.This should help most of you guys get better, as most of our problems derive from loneliness and lack of attention.Talking can allieviate that pain and can give you confidence to take little steps to improve the quality of your life, under the supervision of an expert.