Advice for Filling out Job Applications

Discussion in 'I Have a Question...' started by lachrymose27, Dec 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lachrymose27

lachrymose27 Well-Known Member

So.. i've filled out a few job applications.. but I always get stumped at the part where you have to type a "Reason for leaving your most recent job". (I have a tendency to quit 1 month or 1 year later due to depression).

This question really sets me back.. I'm not sure whether I should be honest or lie about it.. I'm not too good with what employers want to hear... so can I get some advice from you experienced guys and gals? Thanks.
  2. BeautifullyChaotic

BeautifullyChaotic Well-Known Member

List your reasons for leaving as medical, it's not a lie but doesn't go too far into detail. Too many people judge depression in a harsh light, can consider people suffering from depression as "crazy" so I see no harm in simply saying that you left due to illness, or left for medical reasons.

Good luck!
  3. lachrymose27

Wouldn't they question the medical leave in an interview though?

4. BeautifullyChaotic

BeautifullyChaotic Well-Known Member

They very well may, but if they do it is okay to simply say "It's a non issue at this point". If they press the matter take a deep breath, so you don't have anxiety and tell them it's very personal, but I doubt they will press.