afraid of being a borderline...

Discussion in 'Mental Health Disorders' started by messedupmarionette, Oct 25, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. messedupmarionette

messedupmarionette Active Member

I'm afraid that I have borderline personality disorder.

I'm a psychology student, and from what I've read, I fit almost everything. The only thing that's missing is the abusive childhood.... At least I think it is. I imagine that I'd know if I was abused when I was younger.

How can you tell? I've taken quizzes and online stuff, even a test in my abnormal psychology class, but I find everything so easy to manipulate.... I can't tell if I WANT to be a borderline or not... I mean, there's a possibility that I just WANT to be sick for some vain reason, and so I'm pushing myself into the box of bpd... Is anybody else a borderline that I can talk to? I think it would make a little more sense if I knew someone that really WAS...

2. Jenny

Jenny Staff Alumni

Hi

Sounds like you're looking for a reason that could explain why you feel and think the way you do? I wonder how being diagnosed would help you? I guess that by having the 'label' it may open up avenues for you to get help and support and it may well be worth speaking to your doctor to see what he/she thinks - it may be possible for your doctor to diagnose you or he could refer you to a psychologist.. i'm afraid im not sure how that would work. You sound very self aware and honest about what's going on for you.

I hope you're able to get the support you need - please keep writing here if it helps too.

Take care
    Jenny x

3. Erratic

Erratic Active Member

Now, don't quote me on it, but the actual diagnosis criteria for BPD doesn't require an abusive childhood. I could be wrong however. Most people with BPD develope it from invalidating and unstable environments growing up, which does not necessarily mean that it was an abusive upbringing.