Alcoholism?

Discussion in 'Self Harm & Substance Abuse' started by anarulesmenow, Mar 24, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. anarulesmenow

anarulesmenow Well-Known Member

Hey, im a 17 year old girl from the uk and im been through a lot of stuff like eating disorders, depression, ocd, stress, anxiety etc.I have been worrying lately as I think i may have an alcohol problem and I think this may have come from my previous problems. go to my local pub at most lunchtimes and if im there for an hour i can usually drink about ten drinks.I also go most evenings and can drink about 20 drinks in an evening.Im a 6th form student, and I believe this is having an effect on my 6th form work. Im often drunk at 6th form and I often go out drinking instead of doing work. I often go on alcohol 'benders' when I get stressed (which is often) and I will be nearly permenantly drunk for a week.When I do this and stop drinking, I often get withdrawal symptoms e.g. shaking. Do you think I have a problem, and if so how can I get help?Sorry if i havent explained very well, Im actually drunk now.I think it may be a coping mechanism but its like I HAVE to drink.

2. Godsdrummer

Godsdrummer Guest

Well if you think you have a drinking problem, they you probably do.

You are so young to be having such problems. (((caring hugs)))

I would suggest getting to an AA meeting pronto.

As a card carrying member of AA, from what you described, yep it sure sounds like you have a monster there on your hands.

But you can conquer this addiction. I did, and you can too.

3. Wastingecho

Wastingecho Well-Known Member

alcohol is often used as a form of self-medication - i've seen it in my father and in my brother

if i truly didn't detest the taste of alcohol myself it could just as easily be me

AA would be a good first step, but you should also discuss this issue with your therapist

4. anarulesmenow

anarulesmenow Well-Known Member