Almost Done

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by LemonLime11, Jan 3, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LemonLime11

LemonLime11 Member

Hello everyone--

I've felt sad and anxious for most of my life (suspect I may have bipolar disorder). I'm 32 now (a guy), and in the last few years things have really declined. I had such high hopes for myself. I went to college in my early 20s and then moved to another state to go to graduate school. I completed all the coursework but couldn't finish the capstone thesis. After I dropped out of graduate school, I bounced from job to job and saw a steady decline.

I was working as caregiver for a woman with a spinal cord injury up until about 13 months ago, but then had to quit that job. Now I'm a freelance writer and have been barely scraping by on monthly bills. I owe thousands in old student loans, have credit card debt, and am behind on my taxes from last year. My credit is shredded. I now rent a room from an older female friend as a last option.

There was a point a few years ago when I was so poor that I lived in a hotel for around 5 nights each week. On many occasions, I did not have enough money for the other 1 or 2 nights and had to live on the street. This is so embarrassing that I can barely type it without tearing up.

I've always loved reading, music, science, animals and most other things under the grand sun. But I can hardly think or move anymore. On some days I'll get a surge of energy and will convince myself that I'm going to learn piano or read a biology textbook and become an expert on the life sciences (weird). On other days, I'm afraid to leave my room to even go to the kitchen and get something to eat or drink.

I sometimes go for months without talking to my parents or siblings because I have nothing new to say or I'm embarrassed that I screwed something up (I missed sending a card for my dad's birthday and then hated myself and couldn't let it go).