Almost laughable?

Discussion in 'Welcome' started by Financier, Apr 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Financier

Financier Member

A few years ago, I would have laughed at the prospect of making my numerous problems known to the general public- people I don't know. And yet now it makes far more sense.

Due to having a somewhat 'active' internet presence, I intend to keep several details of my life personal, so forgive my vague nature as I skip and hop around my short story here.

I'm in my late twenties, a somewhat lucrative investments analyst, owner of a mid-sized investments and legal financial consultant group - as a kid I was thrilled by the prospect of money, and decided that I would dedicate my life to the study of such. I graduated from a somewhat prestigious school in the US with a law degree a number of years ago (not Harvard... heh, not that prestigious). I find myself to be living proof that money does not solve any problems, it just makes them worse. I'm a strong Atheist and a self-proclaimed nihilist, and can relate to almost all schools of thought. I find myself best when immersed in music- I stray from what someone of my race would stereotypically listen to (rap music), instead spreading across numerous genres - rap, classical, heavy metal, metalcore, all those sub-genres, jazz, alternative rock, swing, acoustic rock- you name it- I listen to it.

Around the age of 15 - I was struck with a somewhat stunning realization of the uselessness of life itself. The superficial nature of my schoolmates and the sheer naivete of everyone around me was suffocating. I saw no point to life, and saw no need to live.