Am I a rotten son?

Discussion in 'I Have a Question...' started by cloud9, Feb 14, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cloud9

cloud9 Well-Known Member

Over the four years the I've been at university I feel like I've become a disobedient, selfish son. I used to look forward to my family's company or at the very least I didn't mind their company. Now when I visit home from university, just isolate myself from them. I either stay in my room with my door closed or go out with friends. I'm just angry at my parents.

My dad is an emotionally abusive father. He's wrecked my mom through almost 30 years of marriage. I don't like it when he's around. My poor mother lacks confidence and self-esteem. All she does is clean the house, make food and sit in front of her beloved television. She never really takes an interest in what I'm studying at university, who my friends are at university. Actually neither of my parents really take an interest. I just really don't want to work on them. I don't take the time to spend any time with them. I just don't want to........but I'm beginning to feel like maybe I'm being a rotten son wanting to do so.

Its Valentine's Day today.....I spoke with a friend the other day who said that she's going out with her family for dinner. She has a brother and together they bought their parents a champagne glass set which has a base that forms a heart. The glasses bases come together to form a heart. Both their parents names are engraved on the glasses, one on each glass. I think about this and wow. They have such a functional family unit. They care for each other enough to do something like this. My family we don't tend to celebrate any holidays, not even birthdays to any serious degree. Should I have wanted to do something with my family for Valentine's Day?