Am I the only one sad for no reason?

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by WillST, Dec 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WillST

WillST Active Member

I don't get it.

I read a lot of threads on here and everyone seems to have very good reasons for being suicidal or depressed. They were abused as children, trouble with parents or family they have no friends, they are bullied at school or doing poorly at school, they were raped, their spouses mistreats them, relationship trouble, divorce, lost their job or just know someone that committed suicide - many many 'reasons', everyone seems to have some hurtful history.

But I don't have any reasons. I have a supportive family that has given me everything and never done wrong by me, I have friends, I graduated from University and I am on my way to post-graduate studies. No family history of suicide or depression whatsoever. I haven't experienced any of the 'normal' trouble that most SF members have.

Yet I feel empty all the time like something is missing. I feel hopeless and sad and depressed almost every day. And then I feel guilty because I shouldn't feel this way and a lot of people have it much worse than I do. I don't understand what is wrong with me and I think that is what scares me the most :sad: Sometimes I think I making this all up, that I am doing it to myself and there is nothing wrong with me - after all why should there be?

I can't stand feeling this way, it is killing me.

2. Sadeyes

Sadeyes Staff Alumni

Besides the familial aspects of depression, depression can be biochemical, physical, etc...have you discussed your feelings with a MD who can check for the other causes of depression (e.g. hypothyroidism)??? if there is little else contributing to your feelings, this is a worthy place to start...big hugs, J

3. fromthatshow

fromthatshow Staff Alumni