An uncontrollable cascade of events

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by zackf1994, Dec 9, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zackf1994

zackf1994 New Member

I'm a student in college and I feel like I'm losing control of my life. I'm sorry if this is a long story, but I am going to start from the beginning: (after typing this I realized this isn't so much of a story as it is a list of all of my problems, and I apologize for that)

My senior year of high school when I was applying for college, I chose a university that was financially reachable for me. It's a state school and I was fortunate enough to be awarded a full academic scholarship, but to keep my scholarship I have to maintain a certain GPA. Well, it's my 3rd semester and I am not getting good enough grades so by the end of this week I am going to be stripped of my scholarship.

I'm financially alone. I'm going to need to take out loans, find someone to cosign for me, and everything else. I just feel an immense burden that is going to be thrust upon my shoulders and I don't know if I'm tough enough to handle it.

In addition, I'm gay. I have no gay friends, although I am out to all my close straight friends but I still feel ostracized from my friend group, as if no one really understands me. It's a rift that I can't cross to connect with them and they can't cross to connect with me. I have no romantic prospect of any sort and haven't for almost 8 months. I feel overwhelmingly alone.

I'm in love with my straight best friend with absolutely no hope of him ever returning the feelings, or even me being able to tell him about how I feel.

A couple months ago I started seeing a therapist but discontinued it after 4 meetings. I felt as if I was getting no help and she was simply forcing me to talk about things I didn't want to talk about.

My friends are my friends but I still feel alone when I hang out with them and I don't know why.