Any ideas for a solution appreciated. I'm painted into a corner and desperate.

Discussion in 'Help Me! I Need to Talk to Someone.' started by PatGray, Jan 20, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PatGray

PatGray Member

In a nutshell: out of work force for 10 years after an illness and business failure.
    60 years old.
    Broke.
    No references.
    Isolated.
    Married but not really connected to wife, who treats me like a servant.
    No car or transportation.
    No friends left.
    No prospects.
    Ignored and forgotten.
    Constant stress 24/7. I even ask people in my dreams for work or if they know of any opportunities - recurring almost every night. Drives me nuts.

I need an income desperately and want to reconnect with the world, but I'm out of ideas. I've volunteered back when my car was running - didn't help me get a job though. No one wants to hire someone with no connections, references etc. I have a BFA degree from an excellent college. Bottom line is, I'm mentally exhausted and the idea of suicide blasted me with relief and joy. THAT is frightening and troubling. It tells me how really screwed I am, which is why I'm here begging for ideas so i can somehow get back in the game at this late date. I really don't want to have to check out, but the pressure of poverty, no insurance for injuries that need medical care, no retirement savings and a very bleak future is getting to be fucking overwhelming. Thanks for any ideas on generating some type of revenue. That's the key to getting me out of this hellish quagmire.

2. scaryforest

scaryforest Banned Member

work on relationship with wife first?
    do take up the voluntary jobs despite lack of pay and employment, it'll get you out and about and around people.. and potential links and friends

3. PatGray

PatGray Member

"work on relationship with wife first?" - not helpful. I need income ideas. Can't volunteer anymore - no transportation. Thanks for your comment however.