Anybody here unemployed?

Discussion in 'Mental Health Disorders' started by DarnTired, Mar 25, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DarnTired

DarnTired Antiquitie's Friend

I am. That's a big source of depression.

Been out of work since just before Thanksgiving (had to face the holidays with practically no money and no way to visit my family). Been looking, but it's tough. I am a writer who has worked in post-production, and there just isn't anything. I also just finished a 19 month temp job (Wow) at IHOP offices as an office temp, pinballing all over the building from department to department. They just finally ran out of things for me to do. I was looking earnestly for the first two months, but depression has slowed down my enthusiasm and I try but I easily get discouraged. I was really down on myself and believed for a while that they didn't like me anymore at IHOP. I was proved wrong when I there recently to have lunch with a few old co-workers and everyone in the building was glad to see me. The poor, wonderful woman from HR wouldn't even let me say "Hi, how are you" before she started appologizing over and over again that she didn't have work for me and that they even had to let a few people go. I told her I understood. It was nice knowing that if something comes up there, they would call me in, but it being so slow is having that rotten effect on me again.

The worst thing is that now it is standard that you look for work using the internet: most companies don't want to see you at all. Apply online. You try doing that all day, sitting in your room and trying to think up new ideas of where to send resumes, and it can get gloomy after a while. I think I'm gonna' go for a walk.

Just wanted to share that. I'll bet there's lots of people out there going through the same thing. Share, if you like. I'm interested.