Anyone else in DBT?

Discussion in 'Therapy and Medication' started by Erratic, Oct 21, 2008.

1. Erratic

Erratic Active Member

I just hit my halfway point. This is my first time in DBT. We're on the Mindfulness module at the moment for the second time.

I'm rather lucky to be in the center of DBT research and developement. I'm a stone's throw away from Marsha Linehan's lab at the University of Washington.

2. QuadLazer

QuadLazer Well-Known Member

I was in a REBT class for a few weeks... I'm not sure if that classifies as DBT... It didn't really help a lot, but it was all right.

3. Erratic

Erratic Active Member

4. QuadLazer

QuadLazer Well-Known Member

It was like Rational-Emotive Behavior Therapy. It was just a bunch of stupid stuff. I took a DBT group during school for like a few days. To me, though, it's all the same. Just sitting around talking about life. Therapy is therapy. I dunno, but I do remember most of it.

5. Erratic

Erratic Active Member

Ah.

DBT is skills training, I suppose.

And I just realized that I should've put this thread in Treatment. Mah bad. If a mod could move it?

6. Rosenrot

Rosenrot Forum Buddy

I was referred to a couple DBT groups in the seattle area when I left the hospital, I didn't go to any of them. I probably should have, though.

7. meliisa

meliisa Member

I just started dbt and im not liking it at all, posiblly because I have just started with a new therapist

8. fromthatshow

fromthatshow Staff Alumni

Different things work for different people.
    I actually am in DBT at the moment. Three days a week now. The skills that they offer don't really help me. What I am going there for is to get out of the house, get some extra support, be around people, and make some connections. They also have doctors there and free lunch :). And my insurance covers it all so I figure why not.

9. Erratic

Erratic Active Member

TY to the mod who moved this! :)