Anyone Immune to Antidepressants?

Discussion in 'Therapy and Medication' started by Cronus, Sep 1, 2016.

1. Cronus

Cronus Member

Please excuse me for my absolutely newbie thoughts here on anti-depressants but I've never personally thought they actually do anything. Now to say this I'm sure is absolutely ridiculous because there is a bunch of science in this field proving they work etc, plus, I've never tried them before so how should I know?

A while back I read the following statement and I JUST CAN NOT relate to it:

"Although it’s a little spooky to think about, it is essential to start with the biology: a realization that you are nothing more than a complex machine made of meat. Fleshy chunks, tubes, hormones and electrical signals are the underlying stuff that powers your deepest insights and emotions. So, in much the same way that fear is just a chemical, so happiness is mostly a squirt of Dopamine, Oxytocin, Serotonin, and maybe a few Endorphins. If you’ve ever consumed mood-altering drugs including caffeine or alcohol, or found yourself in an inexplicably bad (or good) mood, you have already felt these things in action."

The last sentence is especially unrelatable to me because I have never randomly found myself in a good or bad mood before. I've been depressed most of my life (you wouldn't know it though from the way I act in front of others, I'm good at hiding it) but not due to randomness, specifically due to issues. If these issues were fixed then I'd be perpetually happy.

Now onto the concept of taking a "happy pill"... I just don't see how it would work for me. I haven't been told to take one or anything, it's just the concept of taking a pill to balance out chemicals in my brain to make me feel happy sounds ridiculous. Chemicals aren't what make me happy and sad, I'm not happy one day and sad another unless issues have come up or been solved.