Ashamed of success...

Discussion in 'I Have a Question...' started by thepainwithin, Jul 25, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. thepainwithin

thepainwithin Well-Known Member

Is anyone else like this? Like, I'll give you an example, I get a 91 out of 100 on an exam, and I ask someone I studied with how he did, he says he got a 77. Then asks what I got, and I say... I got a 90... BUT that's only because I did the extra credit... Like I'm trying to say, hey I didn't really get a 91, I got lucky.

And I'm ashamed about talking about my house and lake house in Michigan when people live in a 1 story ranch in rural Kentucky.

I always tell people my grades are lower than they are.

I mean, I guess it's modesty, but why am I ashamed that I worked hard and got good grades? It's more than just that, I just can't think of anything right now. I actually hit "Load Saved whatever" at the bottom of this thread and it filled in the title and reminded me of something I was gunna type a few months ago..
  2. gem77

gem77 Well-Known Member

i can understand what you're saying. however sometimes i do this with other accomplishments, for example recently when i got into a good university and people congratulated me but i felt the need to change the topic of conversation or put my own university down so to speak. i guess im not one to brag or boast and considering it now i do find it hard most times to enjoy what i have done. However i think you shouldnt feel the need to hide your achievements, it is something to relish in as you have worked hard and should enjoy what you've worked hard for. you should feel proud of what you've accomplished. You dont seem at all boastful, this is a quality i dislike. So please enjoy what you have worked hard to achieve and im sure others will be happy for you.
  3. red ribbons

red ribbons Well-Known Member