Asking for help

Discussion in 'I Have a Question...' started by allison, Sep 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. allison

allison Well-Known Member

Finally, I think I've come to a point in my life where I think I can and should seek help, whether through therapy, counseling, whatever. I think I really need to start growing up and figuring out my problems so I can tackle them. Unfortunately, I'm still living with my parents, and I'm still studying, and it's kind of usual here for kids to stay with their parents until they get married. Besides, I know I can't support myself financially just yet and I really need my parents' help. The problem is I don't want to burden them with this. I know that finding out that their child is this depressed, suicidal, drug addicted person will hurt them and I just don't want to put them through all that, especially with the stigma of having a family member with mental health problems. But it's getting to the point where I feel like I really really have to get help or else I'll just keep sinking faster and faster till I've sunk so far down it'll be impossible to get back up.