Been feeling down over OCD

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by Corey1221, Aug 20, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Corey1221

Corey1221 Active Member

Hello everyone,

I grew up with OCD from hoarding to intrusive thoughts to excessive hand washing. In 2009 it turned to excessive contamination worries when I was in college. Last year in the spring I graduated college, moved back to Florida with my family because we were tired of living up north. The OCD turned from other people touching me to worries over my family or the house was contaminated. On top of it, I get very worried my siblings touching the same things-if one touches something home or in public that other has to. I'm even worries if one has something the other has to have something similar.

Our family has gone to Disney World in Florida for years. The problem is now I'm worried I'm contaminating it or places I used to go here that were sentimental to me growing up. There's lots of places I don't go now because my family has contaminated it. I'm guilty over it but it has destroyed me life these 14 months. In 2011, my last year of college I met this girl I fell in love with. This girl helped me with the OCD very much there, everything in life was perfect. In the few weeks I was there getting close to graduation she left me for someone else. I was devastated, even today I cry over her often. When I was there with her everything was perfect. My life was independent, we had dreams of our future, I didn't think my family was dirty, & for once in years I was happy, truly happy.

Even thought life was tough up north my family found ways to cope but I wanted to return to Florida to spend time with my siblings. They had friends, good jobs, etc. Even my mom got remarried to someone. He moved up there recently because he hates it here, my mom doesn't mind but now he is contaminating those places up there I had good memories even thought I wanted to be back in Florida.