Before You Kill Yourself

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by Godsdrummer, Nov 25, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Godsdrummer

Godsdrummer Guest

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I found this online and thought it might help.

Before You Kill Yourself....

by: Renee T. Lucero (as reprinted in "Dear Ann Landers", Dec 12, 1995)

You've decided to do it. Life is impossible. Suicide is your way out.
    Fine --- but before you kill yourself, there are some things you should know. I am a psychiatric nurse, and I see the results of suicide --- when it works and more often, when it doesn't. Consider, before you act, these facts: Suicide is usually not successful.

You think you know a way to guarantee it? Ask the 25 year old who tried to [edit/method] himself. He lived. But both his arms are gone.
    What about [edit/method]? Ask John. He used to be intelligent, with an engaging sense of humor. That was before he [edit]. Now, he's brain-damaged and will always need care. He staggers and has seizures. He lives in a fog. But, worst of all, he KNOWS he used to be normal.

What about [edit/method]? Ask the 12 year old with extensive liver damage from an [edit]. Have you ever seen anyone die of liver damage? You turn yellow. It's a hard way to go.

What about a [edit/method]? Ask the 24 year old who [edit] himself in the head. Now he drags one leg, has a useless arm and has no vision or hearing on one side. He lived through his "foolproof" suicide. You might, too.
    Who will clean your blood off the carpet or scrape your brains from the ceiling? Commercial cleaning companies may refuse that job --- but SOMEONE has to do it. Who will have to cut you down from where you hanged yourself or identify your bloated body after you've drowned? Your mother? Your wife? Your son?