Between a rock and a hard place.

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by Jupitermoon, Feb 20, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jupitermoon

Jupitermoon New Member

Last week I felt some suicidal thoughts and severe depression creeping in. This is not the first time I've struggled with it. But I thought what would be different about it this time is that I've been working with a therapist for a few years and I figured this time, I won't have to sit alone with these thoughts. So I told my therapist right away when these feelings crept up. She didn't respond the way that I hoped she would. I wanted comforting, reassurance that this will pass, compassion, nurturing. Instead she responded by totally freaking out that if I kill myself she will get into trouble. She said that not only would be I be taking myself down, but I will take her down with me. She then told me that she had been breaking the law in order to work with me as a patient. You see, I originally went to her as a therapist in 1992 when I was in high school. I saw her for two years at that time. Then I moved away for college and she was no longer my therapist. We stayed in touch for a few years and then lost touch in 1998. But a few years ago my life totally fell apart and I reached out to her. We live thousands of miles apart but we began doing therapy over the phone and then skype. I never realized that she was breaking the law by doing this but she informed me the other day that it is not ethical for her to be doing this because she is not licensed in the state I live in.