Boyfriend very suicidal - not coping

Discussion in 'Family, Friends and Relationships' started by greenpixies, Jul 6, 2014.

1. greenpixies

greenpixies New Member

I have seen that there are similar posts on here, to do with a partner who is heavily depressed, but as every situation is unique I felt like I should start a new thread. This is my first time on a site like this, but I just don't know where else to turn.

My boyfriend of 5 years has had a life of hard events, and has always suffered from depression and suicidal thoughts. When he was growing up, he watched (and stopped) his mum try to take her own life several times. Now she is living on the other side of the world with a serious heart condition and has cut him from her life (I won't go into details here, but this has been a devastating blow to him). I am extremely concerned about him, I do suffer from depression too - but I have been very fortunate in the fact I have never been witness to someone so close to suicide before. I feel completely out of my depth, and I don't know how I can help him. He tells me that I am the only person that keeps him alive, but this adds a scary pressure to the relationship.