Brother trying to kill himself

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by Borrowed time*, Oct 31, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Borrowed time*

Borrowed time* Well-Known Member

I dont know what to do.
    I have had a text from my brothers ex asking to check on him as he is threatening to commit suicide. I didnt want to get involved because im going through my own stuff right now but i couldnt ignore it.
    He wanted to talk, i gave him the opportunity and all he could do was cry.
    I dont know how to help him. Can any one give me some advise?

He has a daughter who is here now but all he says is she has her mother.
    I woke my mum up and she has shown her caring side again, she has said leave him, if he wants to leave him to it. WTF!!!
    Im not very good with emotions and i just dont know what to say to him. I cant hug him, i cant talk him out of it, i cant leave him and i cant overpower him. I dont even no whether to call an ambulance as im not sure if he is serious.
    I feel like such a spare tyre at the moment.
    Please help

Edit, just been told he has already attempted today FUCK

2. Withdrawn

Withdrawn Well-Known Member

Oh, I'm so sorry! :hug:
    Is he okay?

3. Borrowed time*

Thanks withdrawn
    Im going to wait up and watch over him, theres nothing else i can do

4. CatherineC

CatherineC Staff Alumni

My brother did this to me too. I had endless phone calls from his ex girlfriend. I had to go over to his house and get him sectioned. Luckily another brother and one of my sisters came with me so I wasn't alone.
    I phoned his GP and they gave the advice on what to do. In fact they were really helpful. He went into a psych unit and I was allowed to visit him after a couple of days. He's never going to be right, too many drug and alcohol problems, but he's still alive.

Has your brother been admitted to hospital? If not, then you need to phone an ambulance for him.