call me stupid, call me selfish

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by TsXar, Oct 21, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TsXar

TsXar New Member

a little about me..

im 23. im a student. im gay.

this is my life...

i sleep strange hours for 2-3 hours at a time, 2 sometimes 3 times a day. i get up when i need to go to class, i work out, i come home, and i play an mmorpg till its time to eat, sleep or go to class again. i turn down going out with people because im distrusting, i say im busy so i can work out or play a game.

why am i like this? this will probably be a long read.

i was bullied at school for being gay (coming out at 15 wasnt my brightest idea). for years i got taken advantage of by older guys because i was young and stupid, and felt so bitterly alone. i hid at night online playing games with people that didnt judge me for something that doesnt effect them. i hated my life.

then university started and things changed. i wasnt an outcast, i could be myself and not end up with black eyes and nose bleeds or broken ribs. i felt like people wanted me for who i was. i was always surrounded by people that wanted to know what i was doing and wanted to come along to wherever i was going. i found a boyfriend that treated me well, and i loved my life.

about 6 months later, i started getting headaches. they got really severe, and i stopped going out as much, and after a few weeks i found out that i had a brain tumor. in terms of severity, i was very lucky because it was benign, caught early, and i made a full recovery relatively quickly.

i thought when i was diagnosed that id have people around me all the time still. what i found was, all the new people id met didnt care, they just wanted to know me because id somehow become the person everyone knew, that was always going out and having fun, and being seen hanging out with me was like some rediculous form of social acceptance.