Calling all Catholics!

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by Briezy, Sep 29, 2016.

1. Briezy

Briezy Well-Known Member

do you ever feel that there is this looming rule over your head that Catholics cannot have suicidal thoughts because it is a eternal sin to kill you self and you will not go to heaven? Do you ever feel that it is just an acceptable to have a mental illness like major depression in the Catholic Church? I know I do. I was just wondering what everyone else's thoughts were on this. Is it okay for me to have these feelings and be a Catholic? Sometimes I feel that I can't talk to people at church because they will think I am a devil or something. It really limits my support system.

2. Wallace

Wallace Active Member

Funny you should mention that. I'm Catholic, and the therapist I used to see said that he saw a lot of Catholic patients who suffered from guilt. While I'm no expert on theology, I can say that your health and safety are paramount. Please don't add this type of guilt to whatever burden you already feel that you carry.

SillyOldBear likes this.
  3. Briezy

Briezy Well-Known Member

Thank you so much. I am glad to hear that I am not alone.

4. SillyOldBear

SillyOldBear Teddy Bear Fanatic Staff Member Safety & Support

I agree with Wallace, you do not need that kind of guilt. I am Presbyterian. They are rather less strict then Catholics. At least that is my impression. But I strongly suspect that Catholics are no less susceptible to suicidal ideation then anyone else. And a refusal to acknowledge these thoughts only makes things worse. They need to be brought out into the open, discussed and understood. I hope this site will make you feel less alone and that you can find at least one person in your church you can talk to.

5. Depressed Since 1974

Depressed Since 1974 Active Member