can I write my dad a letter?

Discussion in 'I Have a Question...' started by alison, Dec 8, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. alison

alison Well-Known Member

I need to tell my dad something that he's not going to want to hear. I'm 23 and live in my parents house. I've been avoiding him and hiding from him, and I don't think I'm going to be able to face him. Would it be totally weird/awkward of me to write him a letter or email?

I know I'm probably making a mountain out of a mole hill. Essentially I'm on medical leave from school (psychiatric reasons), and back on november 1st (the deadline to reapply to come back) my psych team thought I was not well enough and wouldn't clear me to come back for january. I've been too afraid to tell my dad, so he still thinks Im' going to be a full time student in january.

help?? He keeps hounding me everyday to get him some form of proof that I'm a fulltime student so that I can be covered on his insurance.. so I need to break the news to him asap.
  2. Well-Known Member

I don't think it's too weird or awkward. Does he know about your psychiatric situation?
  3. Sadeyes

Sadeyes Staff Alumni

I think this is a good idea...many times we can write what we cannot say...get a draft and sit with it a while to make sure it is what you want to say...J
  4. total eclipse

total eclipse SF Friend Staff Alumni

Perhaps have a member of your psych team with you and get them to explain to him It is better to be fully healed before going back to school so you can be more successful more focused on your education when you are well and strong
    Get a person from medical team okay to give you support when you tell him Just do it okay get it over with have support with you.
  5. Confusticated

Confusticated Well-Known Member