Can someone help me?

Discussion in 'Grief and Bereavement' started by Bluebutterfly, Oct 11, 2011.

1. Bluebutterfly

Bluebutterfly Member

Hi all,

I'm not sure if i am suppose to be writing this in the Depression Forum, but i just need a few answers...... and seen as i am new to this i have no idea where i should be asking questions about my dad's suicide....

My dad was 56, he suffered from Depression about 10years ago and was on Antidepressents and signed off work for 6months. He drank, we helped him, and i specifically remember one night sitting on the stairs with him (him in his underpants!) and me telling him no matter how bad it got, there was nothing we couldnt tackle together..... He got better, he was happy and off the pills, we were a very happy family.

This time round, he was seeing a counciller, which i only found out the day before he took his life, but there was no other signs to suggest depression.

How does someone hide this so well, and continue with day to day stuff with no signs....?? Why do you not reach out to family for help?

Also, everyone has said to me 'Just remember, he wasnt your dad at the end, he was mentally unwell.....' I hate the thought that the man i loved wasnt in there somewhere, was he really that lost?

Sorry to ramble.... Just very very confused......
  2. Lana

Lana Well-Known Member

Hi hun. I'm very sorry to hear about your dad. Depression is so complex and there could be many reasons why he didn't tell anyone. Again, I am very sorry. I hope one day you will find some answers.
    *huge hugs*
  3. BeautifullyChaotic

BeautifullyChaotic Well-Known Member