Can't escape my feelings

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by someguy, Apr 18, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. someguy

someguy New Member

I've had bouts of depression in the past, but about a year or so ago I decided it was no used being depressed. I got good at pushing bad thoughts out of my mind almost instantaneously (I should mention that my mother has major depressive disorder, and my brother has also struggled with depression, while my sister turned to drugs and alcohol for most of her life [once I went without hearing from her for years, same with my mother]).

By not thinking about these things, I was lead to an alright life, I got by and had fun with friends while doing well in college.

But now I'm a sophomore at college and I feel like I'm falling into a hole.

I have quite a bit going for me, I'm doing well in school (perfect so far, I've even just finished an internship), I eat right (fruits, veggies, etc), and I'm physically fit.

Yet, I'm recently plagued by horrible feelings of hopelessness all because of this.

You see, I thought it would be a good idea to start trying to date again. Problem is, I've never really been that good at talking to women or people in general seriously (I have trust and vulnerability issues - probably something to do with my mother basically abandoning me in sixth grade [single parent, but I went to live with my dad after that], but I do my best not to let my past rule the future). I can joke around with them sometimes, but none of my good friends are women (in other words, the people I hang out with are men). And I have no problems making male friends.

I mentioned that I do my best not to let my past rule my future, but I feel like it subconsciously might be doing just that. I had no problems making friends with women before sixth grade.