Can't really ignore this anymore

Discussion in 'I Have a Question...' started by BariMutation, Jan 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BariMutation

BariMutation Member

Okay, this is going to sound REALLY stupid, I know, but I can't help it. It's not that I've been having suicidal thoughts like "I hate my life" or anything like that. In fact, I live a pretty fufilling life, and I know that I'm a lot luckier than most people out there. I'm smart overall, I'm very involved with extra-curricular stuff like marching band (I'm even the drum major), and I have friends. Even so, I've been having thoughts of "Why bother?" since I was a freshman, and I'm now a junior. I go to a medical academy, and along with that brings constant thoughts about what we (as in my peers and I) are going to do with our lives.

I know that I want to work in medicine, more specifically internal medicine, but when I think about my future I have trouble picturing much of anything. I know that I'd be able to make it through schooling, but my biggest thing is that I don't really want to. This isn't a case of laziness, I just hate school - even though my GPA is high, I have to work extremely hard. In fact, I was supposed to be in a special-ed room, but I worked through that. Frankly, I'm done working. It's hard to explain... I don't exactly want to be a doctor, but on the other hand, I don't want to be much of anything else. I looked into working with music - you know, writing music for video games/movies/TV/whatever - but I don't think that I'm creative enough. On top of that, I doubt my mother would be proud of that; she says that she would be, but I'm just not too sure.