Change of Major

Discussion in 'The Coffee House' started by Haley-Elizabeth, Dec 10, 2008.

?

Should I keep the former major, or switch to the latter?

1. Liberal Sets

28.6%
  2. Computer Technology

71.4%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Haley-Elizabeth

Haley-Elizabeth Well-Known Member

Okay so I am taking a poll of who thinks I should change my major and who thinks I should stick with the one I have.

Right now I am majoring in Liberal Arts, which is basically an English major. I'm thinking I want to switch to Computer Technology.

My Argument:

Okay, so I'm kind of super great at writing novels and short stories, but none seem worth publishing. I have one novel I've been working on for years that I think will be my first to try and publish. In the beginning I thought it would be smart of me to get an English degree so I would have more credibility as a writer. Well, I was looking at some classes today and seriously got to thinking about computer technology. I've been supernaturally good with computers since we had those cheap blue screened computers in kindergarten. I knew I wanted to get a comp tech degree so I could make decent money until when and if my career as a novelist kicked off. Now I want to forget the English degree and go straight for comp tech since I don't technically need a degree in English to make my writing better and comp techs kinda require degrees anyway. I just wanted to know if I was making the right decision. Help?

2. gentlelady

gentlelady Staff Alumni

What about a double major? Then you don't have to give either up.

3. ~Tosh~

~Tosh~ Forum Buddy

surely it should be your choice in what you want to do hun.. which would make you happy? which would make you better off in the future?

4. Haley-Elizabeth

Haley-Elizabeth Well-Known Member

Ugh, seriously? I'm pretty sure i'm gonna change it to comp tech. Double majors take longer to graduate with and my grant will only last so long.

5. resistance