Chiptune

Discussion in 'Soap Box' started by Joshy, Jun 13, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Joshy

Joshy Well-Known Member

I've been interested in Chiptune music for about 10 years now, ever since I was 5. But I've only recently been REALLY wanting to go 'full-fledged chiptune.'
    And I own some of the necessities, however I'm having trouble understanding what to do.. I have no knowledge of electronic engineering.
    Apparently on one of the forums it says something about having to put LSDJ (a popular program used to make Chiptune music) on a game cartridge, then into the Gameboy. I have no clue how to do that to a game cartridge... Muchless do I even have the tools to do so unless I were to bust it open and break the screws..

I have 2 Gameboys:

1 Gameboy Original (grey.)
    1 Gameboy Color (cyan.)

I have knowledge of using vsts and plugins to make Chiptune, so that part isn't so difficult. I've composed on Nanoloop before and MilkyTracker.
    I just have no clue how to engineer this project, or what to do at all.

Does anyone have any knowledge of making Chiptune?
    Incase you don't know what Chiptune is; here is an example:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_k6a_ksWZqU&feature=related

It is music made upon using audio-chips from old video game platforms, or even making your own from scratch, and using a Gameboy as an instrument. Sometimes even Nintendo systems and other ACTUAL consoles, but the Gameboy is the most popular instrument of Chiptune.

2. Null

Null Well-Known Member

Hey Joshy,

I share your love of chiptunes! It looks like LSDJ is no longer available to purchase as a cart anymore. Looks like the only option is buying the rom for use with an emulator.
    From the site it looks like you can buy a programmable cart and flash the rom to it. I found one site that looks like they have. I will PM you the site. Not sure if links are allowed on this forum.

3. Joshy

Joshy Well-Known Member