Citalopram - side effects?

Discussion in 'Self Harm & Substance Abuse' started by SAVE_ME, May 14, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SAVE_ME

SAVE_ME Well-Known Member

Hi, my GP just prescribed me citalopram 10mg tablets. I'm supposed to take one a day, but she did warn me that I may suffer from increased anxiety over the first couple of weeks until they kick in. Anyone else here take these things? What other side effects can I expect and how bad are they? This is my first time on anti-depressants so I'm a little scared.

2. Petal

Petal SF dreamer Staff Alumni SF Supporter

I was on his drug for about 8 months. I started on 10mg and worked my way up to 60mg.It only helped for a small while then stopped working. The side effects I experienced were nausea, body itches, twitches,feeling angry without reason. The twitches and involuntary body movements were the worst,when I lay down to go to sleep it was impossible. It did only last while I was changing doses though. They should wear off soon enough.

3. SAVE_ME

Thanks daisychain. I've been on them a few days. Usually within a few hours of taking them I'll feel a little spaced out. I get a little more tired/lethargic than usual too, and feel the need to sleep every now and again. Night times are the worst though. Find it virtually impossible to get a decent night's sleep....head keeps buzzing and I get this awkward feeling in the back of my throat as though I'm about to be sick. Hope it wears off soon.

4. shades

shades Staff Alumni

Please check "wikipedia", and be prepared, they must list everything even if only one person reported it. You probably will experience only the most common ones , if at all, but go slow and keep track as to if any of the side-effects improve. If you can get by the first couple of weeks, you can get very good response to the drug.

My mother was on this for years and remained at a very even keel. Also be careful coming off, it must be decreased slowly.