Close, but no cigar

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by Freya, Aug 1, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Freya

Freya Loves SF Staff Member ADMIN

This is going to sound stupid. I am very aware that portions of this sound stupid, so if your tolerance for 'stupid' is low, please don't read it.

I am not a scientist but I believe that the universe is all about balance. Every action has an equal and opposite reaction and all that - not just in terms of physics but in terms of life, space, existence. I believe the universe is 'set up' for balance. There are lots of terms for it - the scientific have this 'equal and opposite reaction' thing, the religious have 'when god closes a door, somewhere he opens a window' - the concept of Karma... it all points to the same basic tenant that the universe is about balance - eventually.

I believe - and this is where people start to tell me I am stupid -I believe that on some fundamental core level I am a bad person. I am not just worthless, I am toxic. I have racked up enough mistakes, enough bad things, that coupled with this fundamental... defect, deficiency, there is nothing I can do to 'balance' it. So the universe balances it instead. Every single time I start to feel flickers, moments, of happy, the universe adjusts the balance and throws something in the way to make sure the thing that was causing the flickers of happy goes away. To make sure that the thing that would make me actually happy is impossible.

Believe me, I know it sounds like hogwash. In the beginning I was able to dismiss it as ridiculous, but as time passes it becomes more and more evident that it is not. There is more and more evidence that if I start to be happy about something, it will become impossible/be taken away. And I understand that it is balance - that it is because I do not deserve happy. I understand that it is my own fault, but that doesn't mean it does not hurt.