Cmon people

Discussion in 'Help Me! I Need to Talk to Someone.' started by rainycity, Sep 7, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rainycity

rainycity New Member

Ok I just have to say - I am sitting here wallowing in my own misery and i finally decided to see what is out there for help. I am surrounded by egotistical arrogant people every day and seriously think that some of the kindest people most selfless people may be right here on this site.

I find it interesting that when you sign up, immediately you are given the option to have a 'quick escape' button to continue to hide that you are suffering. I am amazed. What I am struggling with right now is that I have been using that quick escape button for over 30 years. Now don't get me wrong, but are we not all suffering alone? Are we not all feeling that there is no one to help? Are we not all feeling shameful and hiding our secrets? The key word in this is ALL and that means the thousands of people that I am seeing are using this site. Not one lonely person, alone, but thousands! I have been struggling with suicidal thoughts and behaviour since was 10 when I first slashed my wrists with a razor blade (22 years ago) and have only expressed these feelings to anyone this past year and more specifically these past 5 minutes. I am absolutely amazed at the secrecy of this whole thing. I don't have a point to really make here, but this kind of amazes me to see the extent of this secrecy and the fact that people are all suffering alone! If there are so many of us that feel this way, how can we not know another? Is it because we are not talking about it? Is it embarassing? is it embarrasing to have a tumour? A broken leg? A broken down car? Who decided that I should suffer alone and that someone who has an ear infection should get a hallmark card? Who is this long-lost man? Maybe one of the major problems we are facing is isolation and shame over a medical probelm that is treatable and can be discussed