College is making me more suicidal.

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by sadlunchable, Feb 25, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sadlunchable

sadlunchable New Member

This is only my second semester in college, but I don't think I can do it. It causes me to self-harm, cry, and want to kill myself everyday that I have to go. I'm failing a couple classes because I have no motivation to go. After I skip a class, I don't want to go the next time because I'm afraid the teacher will call me out or something. I want to drop out more than anything, but if I do that then I might not be able to make enough money later on in life. What should I do? I really need advice.

2. NeededaName

NeededaName New Member

Hello, I'm also a college student having a hard time so I'll try to give you a little information based off of my own experiences.
    I don’t think that there is any shame in dropping out, especially if college is affecting you in such a negative way. My own father never finished college and he managed to raise three children on his own. A degree is a nice thing to have, but it doesn’t warrant whether or not you will be successful. There have been plenty of people who have become very successful without a college degree.
    I can tell you not to worry about professors calling you out for missing class. In my almost four years of school nothing like that has ever happened. Every professor is a little different, but most understand that students won’t always attend.

There is another option you could consider and that’s online classes. I’ve taken a few and I’ve enjoyed them. They give you an opportunity to learn in the comfort of your own home without having to attend class. It’s just a thought.