College - the worst decision ever

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by Fiddy, Aug 16, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fiddy

Fiddy New Member

I graduated from college last year from a highly respected university. I was told that my degree would be in demand and that there was no way I wouldn't get a job coming out of college. Fast forward and the recession hits, I've been living at home with a huge amount of debt that I've been barely able to ding anything out of with my $8.40 an hour McDs job

I don't know how much more of this I can take, I've applied to everything in the world and haven't even heard back from anyone. I want to kill myself, this pain and embarrassment has gone on too long. I don't know what to do, I've tried everything I could to come out of college successful, but life had other plans. I didn't even party or socialize that much in college either, I just studied and worked my butt off because I thought that's what was needed. I was wrong. I am screwed, I want to die. If it weren't for the shame it'd put on my family I would end myself in a heart beat.
  2. Tim.

Tim. SF Emoti-King

Saw your post and I have to say it struck a nerve. I feel for you. It has to be tough right now.

But I don't think you should feel ashamed. You didn't cause this recession. And despite the situation, you're working, taking care of yourself, and doing what you can to pay the bills. There's honor in that, even though I know it has to be a struggle. It has to be frustrating. But you're doing what is necessary at the moment, and that is admirable.

The moment won't last for ever. The work you did in college doesn't have to go to waste. You learned skills that will allow you to succeed when things do get a little better and you are able to find a job in a field you want. You are continuing to look for work that you want. You won't be stuck working at McDonald's forever.