conflicted

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by hopelesso, Jan 15, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hopelesso

hopelesso New Member

I am a University Student, studying Journalism, and in my second year. A few years ago, I was passionate about writing, especially news stories, which I then posted onto a blog under a pseudonym of 'Sam Z'. Didn't garner much attention, but it kept me happy and my dream alive, and at the same time, I received positive feedback from those \on Wordpress and my Twitter followers.
    Fast forward to 2012, and I mess up my A Level results. Naturally, I hope to resit them, but my parents said no, do not waste the year and go off to uni, albeit it be a very bad one, you will stil have a degree and can move onto a masters. I come from a family where academic performance needs to be immaculate. It is expected since the day of our births. And I think I let my parents and extended family down by not pursuing medicine, a field most of my family members are in, or accountancy, which my mother wanted me to enter, but my A level maths results were abysmal. The only good result I got was in English, so with my love for Journalism, I got a place through clearing, thanks to my English A Level.
    I had to move away for Uni. 88 Miles to be exact from our home in North East London/Essex. I didn't drive so i had to spend 2 and a half hours when I wanted to come back home. I got terribly homesick from the get go. Freshers week was a disappointment, I didn't make many friends, and that is probably what triggered my downfall. Ultimately, I made a few friends from my course, but it took a while.