Crushing On Your Best Friend

Discussion in 'Family, Friends and Relationships' started by PinkiePieInTheSky, Mar 14, 2014.

1. PinkiePieInTheSky

PinkiePieInTheSky Well-Known Member

So, I have a problem. Please forgive me if I sound like a jerk as I'm writing this, but I'm trying to be dead honest in my feelings/thoughts.

I'm a college aged guy, and I've been crushing on my best friend, a girl, for the past three years. She's a year older than me.
    I live near a small town. I've done a fair amount of international travel. Some people say I'm really smart.

My crush has barely left the state. She's normally the slowest person in a conversation.
    I love hanging out with her. We both love creative writing. We're both pretty complient people.

I also feel like I have too many issues to be in a relationship anytime soon.
    I actually just last week heard that she actually feels exactly the same, that she doesn't consider herself anywhere near ready for a relationship. (but as she was saying it, my mind was saying, "I disagree. You are a fantastically cool person. I'd date and possibly even marry you in a heartbeat.")

I can't kill my crush. I've tried telling myself that there is absolutely no chance in our relationship, but all that does is make me sad.

Some of my angst might come from the religious teaching I've received over my life, which severely critizes dating. I've had to work at telling myself that dating does not instantly mean we're getting married. But I've mostly dumped that.

I hate having a crush that I don't feel I can pursue. I like being Spock, not caring about relationships at all.

Thanks for reading :)
  2. total eclipse

total eclipse SF Friend Staff Alumni

And if you try persuing it and if does go somewhere then you will be the better for it If it does not go somewhere at least you tried hun and can say that If you do nothing then you will never know where that friendship could of taken you hugs
  3. PinkiePieInTheSky