Crying for the moon

Discussion in 'Rants, Musings and Ideas' started by Prof.Bruttenholm, Jun 15, 2010.

1. Prof.Bruttenholm

Prof.Bruttenholm Well-Known Member

It's a phrase, it means, you can see what you want, it seems as though you could reach out and take it but that's only perspective, in reality, it's millions of miles away.

That's my dream of being a graphic designer.

All artists/designers before got started in art very young, all having passions for it and gaining skill early on.

Me? I never got pushed into art, I just had a fondness for it that never grew because I didn't know I could do more with it and no one pushed me into doing more with it.
    I tell people I got serious in highschool, but it was barely that and it was late in highschool.
    The fact of the matter is I am a terrible artist/designer. I'll never achieve my dream.

When I tell people that, they always say "well can't you do something else?"
    Do what? Choose another career I'd just be unhappy with because my dream was never realized and I spent my life lying to myself that I made the right decision?
    No, this is why I rationalize and contemplate suicide.
    Because I'm nothing special, no great artist, just an idiot who got to the race too late.
  2. WildCherry

WildCherry Staff Member ADMIN

Why do you think you're a terrible artist?
  3. Prof.Bruttenholm

Because my art is terrible.

Less than mediocre, I practice and never improve. I want to be as good as some of my favorite artists and I know they practiced for years, but I don't have that kind of time.

Fact is, even if I get accepted to a good art school (and nothing says I will), I will probably not be able to find work as a graphic designer because of my crappy skills.
  4. KittyGirl

KittyGirl Well-Known Member