Curiosity about certain dreams

Discussion in 'Midnight Owl' started by Growing Pains, May 23, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Growing Pains

Growing Pains Well-Known Member

I'm a writer... and by that I mean that I write a lot (and would like to be published one day). Last night, I had the oddest dream. In the dream, I was becoming one of my characters. I don't recall noticing it right away, but toward the end of the dream, I looked in the mirror and had his shade of blonde hair, his shade of blue eyes, and my hair was even as "sloppy" as his is often described to be. The oddest thing about the dream was that the "change" didn't scare me in the slightest. If anything, it was... comforting? Yeah, comforting. It's not the first time I've had such dreams. The first one I can recall so vividly that wasn't a nightmare, though... I guess what I'm wondering is how common it is for writers to have such dreams? I suppose it makes sense, since when we write so much, our characters become a big part of our lives. But have any other writers here had dreams of actually becoming/being one of their characters? I can't stop thinking about the dream. Especially how I almost felt comforted at the idea of being him. :unsure: I wonder if, perhaps, there could be a reason for that?
  2. Dreamland

Dreamland Well-Known Member

I can't speak from an experience, here, but I wonder if the dream experience might have been comforting to you because of how that character is portrayed in your stories. Is he a protagonist of sorts, or at least a relatively "good" guy? Maybe he's someone you'd like to see yourself as--someone successful or secure. Alternatively, maybe it was comforting because you somehow recognized that this was a character and that you as a writer are fully in control of that character's world. Maybe it gave you a sense that you had control over everything that happened to yourself as the character.