Discussion in 'Self Harm & Substance Abuse' started by laura25hope, Aug 30, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. laura25hope

laura25hope Member

I love and live with someone with an addiction. Although, it isn't an every day addiction. He cycles. He does really well, remains sober from his drug of choice, wants to have alittle more fun than usual and maybe gets alittle depressed about life's pressures and then BOOM... gets high. Then we fight, i want to leave with my daughter so she isn't subject to the fighting and drug abuse. It is a horrible cycle. Rehab would NEVER work for him bc he is capable of being clean for 6months or so at a time. There isn't any counseling that will really help bc they want you to be in a rehab program while attending. It's a difficult situation... I need him to WANT sobriety for our family. This time his promises sound alittle more sencere... but I am at wits end. I can't do this another time with him.

I have been doing this for 3 yrs with him now... ive been nice... ive been a shoulder to cry on and listen...
    I'm just mean. TOUGH LOVE. NEXT MOVE IS OUT THE DOOR. Im hurt, im tired, im sick of it..... i feel like im the one with the addiction bc everytime a situation comes up where his drug is mentioned, someone offers it... i get scared, nervous, defensive, i hope he makes the right decission bc i know i cant do that for him.
    there is no shame in my game... this is MY family. I will straight up tell people if they wanna have "fun" they can do it somewhere else, get out, or don't even mention things drugs like that in our house please.