• Apologies for the issue with a bizarre redirect on the site earlier today. There was a large server update and an error in an IP address had the traffic routing wrongly. No hacking or anything nefarious and nothing to worry about. Sorry for any stress/anxiety caused. Very best wishes - SF Admin

Cynicism driving me crazy -- Unsure about job offer

Not open for further replies.

Prinnctopher's Belt

Antiquities Friend
SF Supporter
I'm a cynic. Always have been, always will be, no cure.

So for the past two weeks I've been really aggressive with my job search. I put resumes on every site imaginable, including the WashingtonPost Jobs site, Careerbuilder, everything under the Sun. So, I got an e-mail yesterday.

Dear Job seeker,

We have reviewed your resume at washingtonpost.com and believe you could qualify for this position. We have forwarded your resume to the Head of Operation. Mr [Confidential] of [Confidential Company name]. He would like to conduct an online interview with you from Thursday 14th April ,2011 between 9:00AM -4:00 PM EST to discuss more about the Job Position of CUSTOMER SERVICE position that you are yet to occupy.

Set Up a Screen name with the [XXXXX] Instant Messenger online at www.[XXXXX]com and add up the Head of Operation screen name: [confidential] to your buddy list.

His Screen Name with [XXXX] Instant Messenger is: [confidential]

Email Address: [Confidential]@[site].com

She will be waiting to talk to you on [xxxx] messenger right away.Endeavor to get online ASAP.

I Wish you the best of Luck on the Interview. If you have any problem, Please feel free to email back .

Mr [confidential].
Human Resource Dept
So that was yesterday. I just had the interview, completely online through the messenger, from 2pm to about 3pm. I was REALLY awry of this because I'm aptly aware of the job scams on the internet. The interview was a little funny because I'm so cynical about this, and him, and underlying motives, and everything. I asked a lot of questions about the company, is there a web site, are there other employees who do this, how the training would be conducted if it's all from home, where the equipment would come from, he said everything would be covered, basically, and that I'd get funds from the company for the things needed. It wasn't like a typical job interview where you ask questions afterward and are told everything and asked about your resume, asked about you... that never happened. Also never asked for the usual things you expect from a scam job, never asked for personal information, no birth date, no social security number, no credit card, no money, nothing but my name, address, and phone number (mobile), then I was given an employment agreement letter to sign, confirming that I'm being employed by them.

He just got on, e-mailed me the details of the job position, a summary of the company, and it included info on salary and benefits ($18/hour for all-day training M-F; working salary after training of $23/hour -- $38k per year -- with 401k, paid vacation, health and dental, sick leave, all benefits after 3 months with the company), and told me that funds for the equipment would be sent to me in the first week, and be paid biweekly. I have a lot of questions about this still, because I'm not sure if it's legit or not, but in case it's not a scam, I didn't want to ruin my chances at this job offer. So... we'll see, but I'm not stopping my job search until I confirm the paychecks are in my hand and already cashed in my purse.

What do you think about this? Does it seem like a scam? Legit? :unsure:

Also, the company is international, headquartered in the UK, with the US office in Texas, and I would be working from home 100% as far as I know now. I'm supposed to be getting materials like a desk, an all in one printer, scanner, fax, copier, and a laptop, and a special type of printer for bar codes. When I asked about how I would get them, he said the company would send me the funds... I'm wondering why they won't purchase the materials for me and send them themselves. We'll see... ???
Last edited by a moderator:


Well-Known Member
Have you googled the company? If it's a scam, there will be warnings aplenty. Also perhaps contact the Better Business Bureau that's in the same city as their US headquarters and see if there have been any complaints.


Staff Alumni
Until they send you an Employment Agreement, you know nothing...have an lawyer review it and DO NOT SIGN ANYTHING before it is adequately reviewed by ppl you trust...if you are comfortable, I will be happy to read it as I have hired thousands of ppl over the years...J
my spidey-sense is tingling, too. sounds a bit fishy. you'll know something is wrong if they want your banking info in order to transfer the $$ to you electronically. or it could be an identity theft scam, esp. if they want your SSN and date of birth for "employment records" ... trust your instincts. and send the contract to sadeyes for sure.

Prinnctopher's Belt

Antiquities Friend
SF Supporter
Okay, so I did call the company the guy supposedly works for, and it is a legitimate company, but they told me that they've had a number of complaints over the past three to four days about being contacted through e-mail about a "customer service" position. He told me that it was a scam and that someone was phishing. The thing about it is that the guy hadn't given me any links to click on or asked for any sensitive information, except for my name (no middle name), address, and phone number. The person at the company I spoke with this morning also told me that they do have people in India and elsewhere who do work online, but said that they don't have any recruiter.

He did send me the lengthy bs job details, and an employment agreement letter, which was very brief and doesn't really have many terms and conditions at all, it's two paragraphs long. Today, I figured I'd play along (this was before I called the company) for what was supposedly the first day of "training". He sent me a task which involved creating a bank reconciliation statement (no information involved, just had to enter the data he sent me into Excel and send it back to him.

I typed up whatever the hell, and he said it was reviewed and accepted, that "that is all for today" and to report back on Monday at 9am. Then I had to send in a time sheet every Friday, so I sent in a time sheet for today's "training," and that was it. Then I called the company.

So I don't know what kind of phishing this if that's what it is.
Last edited by a moderator:

Prinnctopher's Belt

Antiquities Friend
SF Supporter
The company is called Dot Squares and their number is 1-888-746-5616, they have offices in India, one in Texas in the U.S., and its headquarters are in the UK. FYI

Prinnctopher's Belt

Antiquities Friend
SF Supporter
Well, I did sign the letter yesterday before seeing the replies. I'm able to read, write, and understand contracts, so I saw neither risk nor loss in doing so, particularly because of its lack of any indisputable terms or conditions, and susceptibility to being void at this point. This is what it reads (everything, including syntax, punctuation, grammar, is as it was written except in brackets):

Dear [me],

We are pleased to confirm you're being employed by our firm in the capacity of Customer Service. You will report directly to Mr [confidential] with your start of employment on April 14th 2011.

Your salary shall be kett $23 per hour; you will also be covered by the standard group benefit plans and fringe benefits, which will be explained to you. For the first year vacation time shall be pro-rated, so you will be entitled to 21 Working days vacation for this year.

If you agree, please sign the enclosed copy and return for our files.

We look forward to your joining the company.

Employee's Signature

Yours very truly,
Mr Robert Anthony
Chief Executive Officer

This message contains confidential information and is intended only for the individual named. If you are not the named addressee you should not disseminate, distribute or copy this e-mail. If you have received this e-mail by mistake, please notify the sender immediately by e-mail and delete this e-mail from your system.
If I understand you correctly, the real company says it's a scam. Right? What's the question here. Are you just curious to see what will happen next? I'm sure you know enough to not give out any personally identifiable information.

Prinnctopher's Belt

Antiquities Friend
SF Supporter
If I understand you correctly, the real company says it's a scam. Right? What's the question here. Are you just curious to see what will happen next? I'm sure you know enough to not give out any personally identifiable information.
Yep, oh total scam. I just talked to someone and looked up some resources on phishing to see what could be done with just a name, address, and phone number and so far I'm still safe, and blocked the mofo; the scammer is trying to build up trust and was planning in the future to start asking me for $$$ info. Also found this on Google, EXACT same shit. http://flakelist.org/page/viewpub/tid/1/pid/4162

Aha! I was right, see! "Just because I'm paranoid doesn't mean they aren't after me," seems appropriate mhmm.

Thanks for the help everyone.
Not open for further replies.

Please Donate to Help Keep SF Running

Total amount