Dealing with Mental Illness as a "Professional"

Discussion in 'I Have a Question...' started by greyroses, Nov 10, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. greyroses

greyroses Well-Known Member

Hey.

I am at the end of my rope and totally lost as to where I should be going, steps I should be taking, etc. So please, for those of you working while dealing with mental health challenges, Im asking for your insight.
    I have been working a job in a foreign country for two years. Through this time I have faced some struggles but managed. Unfortunately, now I am almost always in constant upheaval. I am struggling with how I should be managing things as a "professional". Or, put another way, I am pinned down between guilt, and goals, and expectations, and the opinions of the people around me.
    Should I quit in the middle and bail, leaving my employers in a lurch and with no explanation, or do I stick it out and (again, without expectation) continue the recent trend of having to take random days off for mental health and minor or major breakdowns?
    I am just completely unsure of what people *do* in these kinds of situations. I would like to know your honest opinions, and what you think would be the greater evil. I do realize, unfortunately, that there is no "right" answer.

Thank you for your time.

2. sudut

sudut Well-Known Member

this is a hard choice. but leaving your employers with no explanation... I don't know about that. maybe they will keep worrying about you.

3. Acy

Acy Mama Bear - TLC, Common Sense Staff Member Safety & Support

Hi, greyroses. Sorry to hear things are so hard for you at the moment. It can be a challenge to balance personal life and work for anyone, so it is just that much harder if we are not well - any kind of "not well."

Do you keep in touch with friends/family "back home"? Friends in the country where you are now? It can help sometimes.