depressed doctor

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by madasheck, Aug 5, 2016.

1. madasheck

madasheck New Member

I'm a horribly depressed physician. Now, before you make accusations, say how thankful I should be for a job or this or that. I don't even have a job right now. I have little money and live with my parents.

Imagine...every single working day of your life you are amongst old, diseased, dying people. And you have to comfort and save them all. And if you don't, it's your fault and you can be fired or sued. And you have to see more and more patients all the time, with endless demands.

I would quit but, having given so much time to medicine, there's virtually nothing else I can do. I would be sweeping floors.

Thanks for listening.

2. Petal

Petal SF dreamer Staff Alumni SF Supporter

Hi @madasheck and welcome to the forums. I'm sorry to hear you are feeling so low. From what I know about physicians (which isn't a lot ) you could potentially move to a new country and work as one there? Have you thought about that? Are you qualified to work anywhere? I can only imagine how draining it would be to work with old sick people day in day out but youre obviously a bright spark and will think of something else to look forward to doing in your life. Do you have a girlfriend? No judgement on my part what so ever just peer support. Sorry you are thinking of suicide, how long have you felt this way?

3. JamesT

JamesT New Member