Depression and the Artist's Mind

Discussion in 'Mental Health Disorders' started by DrNick1010, Dec 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DrNick1010

DrNick1010 Well-Known Member

I'm a creative writer (actually what I'm going to school for right now) and I was curious if anyone else on here dabbles in the arts as well. Like painting, sculpting, music, writing, etc. I guess the reason why I'm curious is because I feel like as much as depression is a burden, it allows me to embrace escapism, which is one of the main reasons why I write. I know that anti-depressants work differently for everyone, but I'm just afraid that my creativity will be hindered by taking drugs. As weird as it is to say, sometimes I feel like I thrive off of my depression because its so much of who I am. A lot of great artists and writers have struggled with depression and I wonder exactly why that is. Can anyone who is creative or artistic comment on their experiences with meds?
  2. Sais

Sais Well-Known Member

I know I worried a lot about this too, but I guess you can always try it and see how it works for your organism.
    In my case my body can adapt fast to any substance and after a few days I couldn't tell the difference, with creativity, I mean.
    It was not affected, but I think it can be different according to what drugs you take, how strong is your artistic side, how much confidence you have in it, and you can always give up taking the meds if you notice different and unwanted effects.
    I sometimes write better when I take a bit more pills :D It's just another circumstance like all the others that influence us, you can learn to adapt. You can even find with this occasion some other maybe stronger motivation than escapism.
    Think positive.
  3. Mr Stewart

Mr Stewart Well-Known Member

Hi Dr. Nick. :smile: