depression worsened

Discussion in 'Help Me! I Need to Talk to Someone.' started by kayte23, Mar 31, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kayte23

kayte23 Member

So basically, I think I've been depressed for nearly four years. And I've had a big problem sleeping for the past few years... mostly I'm unable to fall asleep I don't get tired til dawn, and then I sleep in very late (i'm up to the point where i miss 2/3 of my classes). I'm a freshman in college and finding it hard to keep up with my part-time job and schoolwork.
    Anyways, I took something to help myself work on a big paper tonight and pull a [productive] all-nighter...
    *see, I'm a huge procrastinator, never study, and barely have the motivation to ever do schoolwork. i took it once before- inspired after a friend told me how much it helps. and it worked- i studied for 7 hours solid, without checking facebook or my cell phone.

But this time it made me so depressed. I'm normally depressed anyways (which i chalk up to being melodramatic), and sometimes have huge crying spells. But I haven't had one for a while and I went down to a whole new level... Driving home I sought out a deserted area, jumped across a small ditch to the railroad tracks where I walked along them and thought about what it would be like to get hit by a train... and then at home while taking a shower i choked myself a bit. then in my room i cried for an hour in the fetal position before using a scarf to cut off blood flow to my brain (while watching myself in the mirror... then just crying in front of the mirror & on the floor for a bit).
    now, just to say, none of these were meant to take my life. i just wanted to see what it felt like.