Discussion in 'Help Me! I Need to Talk to Someone.' started by Lazarus70, Sep 14, 2016.

1. Lazarus70

Lazarus70 Active Member

I feel like giving up. I can't find a full-time job. I blew up my life last January and it hasn't recovered. My degree is in social science. I'm not qualified for anything besides teaching but I can't do that anymore. I have a severely autistic son who I need to provide for and I can't find any work. I apply to 5-10 jobs a jobs, data entry, temp agencies, warehouses, shipping, human resources, accounting, museums, tutoring, adult education, college instructor, teacher training, Starbucks, Barnes & Noble,...nobody wants me or can only offer meager pay and hours. I've tried becoming a behavioral therapist working with autistic kids but it's only part-time...I quit my job so I can't collect unemployment. I'm either overqualified for jobs or completely unqualified and have no experience. I've tried working with the Department of Rehabilitation due to my diagnosis of depression....but it's a slow process and the weeks pass and my depression feels like a roller coaster. Today I feel so hopeless I wish I would get <mod edit - method>during a job so I don't have to burden my family with suicide. I'm 45 and my life looks like it's over. Time to lower my expectations and work at McDonalds....I'm not a snob. But I hate myself so much for destroying my life and jeopardizing my family's security because I was lonely. It's crushing to realize you achieved your dreams only to sabotage them and doom yourself to hell for eternity. I love my son dearly. He's the only reason I'm still alive. My marriage is on the rocks. Life goes on but I'm finding it harder to go son's smile is the only keeping me going but then he has an utter meltdown with aggressive behavior and arms are scratched up from him and sometimes I feel like I have PTSD after his was my escape and it's gone....
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 14, 2016
  2. Rockclimbinggirl