Desperate; please help.

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by Alistair Inglis, Mar 24, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. My Name's Alistair. I'm 50 and live in England. I've suffered from depression/depressive issues for 32 years and it's currently the most malevolent ever felt by me. I've been seconded to hospital 6 times in my life, had no work since 2002, will probably never lead a normal lifestyle from (at least) this point onwards and my weight has ballooned 11 stone since the Spring of 2004. I'm studying for a second-class science degree (and failing all the papers of late). I used to write stories and poetry and now can't even recall even simple constructs of creativity.

I constantly compare myself to classmates and former friends (many of whom disappeared in 2002, when my diagnosis was upgraded from depression). They're all achieved, successful, professional people and I'm an unemployable bum gone from bad to worse. I've NEVER felt this desperate, lacking sleep and verbally raging with perfect/perfectly polite strangers. I've been wary of suicide recently, due to religious beliefs; now even these don't demonise my fears.

Can anyone help? I feel so embarrassed typing this, in case it's considered inappropriate to any degree (particularly for a first post).

2. Sadeyes

Sadeyes Staff Alumni

Hi Aly,and your first post was one of the best...I know how it feels to lose the life one had to an unfair that the 'sick' person becomes abandoned...but here, we are a community that holds on to each other..a bum? You sound like a highly intelligent, caring can that be considered 'a bum'? Please continue to post and tell us what is going on...many of us have walked a similar path, I am sure...welcome again...with caring