Detest others, obsess about beauty

Discussion in 'Mental Health Disorders' started by Sardine, Dec 7, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sardine

Sardine New Member

I am new here and have never in my life aired these thoughts so forgive me for going on and on. And please forgive my broken english.

I cannot understand what is wrong with my persona. I'm a 26-year old law student, doing my last term with rather good grades. First serious depression about ten years ago, suicidal, cut myself and starved but few noticed. Had several periods of depression since and have been on medications during some of these. Live in a northern european country so naturally affected by SAD as well.

The depressions I can "manage", at least I can explain them to some degree since my father seem to suffer from the same problem. What I can't get a grip on is my personality. Whan I ask my friend how they view me they tend to describe me as intelligent, funny, ambitious, goodlooking and someone who'll be generally successful in life. I keep up appearances to some degree but my "funny" personality isn't very fun to live with at all.

Nothing i real life seems fun or worth bothering with. My future seems meaningless and I feel that life is just a road to nowhere. The only thing that really affect me is beauty.
    I am - on the inside - mean and think of most people as scum who are happy to dwell in the dirt like pigs whereas I strive to lead an "intellectual" life. Yes, I do know how stupid and pretentious it sounds. I am high strung and get furious when people act in ways I disapprove of - spitting, being loud, dressing inproperly etc. I dismiss so many, most likely unfair, as trash.