Do I Want to Get Better??

Discussion in 'Help Me! I Need to Talk to Someone.' started by downunder, Jun 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. downunder

downunder Well-Known Member

My husband has is all more switched on to what I am doing lately. I had a hidden stash of alcohol which he found (I don't drink). I have started driving around a lot in my car (it get rid of stress for me). He knows about what is happening at work, that I am up in the air at the moment and don't know whether I am coming or going. Also some bullying has taken place. I have told him I don't really want to train my dogs anymore (I have been doing it for the last 7 years, and used to take them to obedience trials etc). The club have some nasty people getting stuck into me about silly things. My last counselling session is today as my current counsellor is burnt out. My daughter died last year and it is coming up to my birthday.

He says if I am feeling low to tell him and he will get some help, but I don't want to end up in the "looney bin", I don't know if I want to get better. I just think I want to be somewhere else. I can;t talk to the counsellor about these strong suicidal feelings because then I will get sent to the looney bin and I don't want to go.

2. fromthatshow

fromthatshow Staff Alumni

There are a couple other threads about this. I've been to three seperate therapists and told them I was feeling suicidal and they didn't send me anywhere. Other people on the forum have said that the therapist asked them if they think they needed to go to the hospital. It's up to you. You can talk to people about feelings and not be sent to the "looney bin."
    But yea it's also a matter of wanting to get better. If you don't want to get better then a therapist might not be able to help. I've learned a lot about myself but I still haven't come to a place that I can say I truly want to get better.
    :hug:
    Hope you feel better.

3. downunder