Do you lie to make your life sound more interesting?

Discussion in 'Mental Health Disorders' started by fromthatshow, Sep 14, 2010.

?

Do you lie to make your life seem more interesting?

1. Yes

16 vote(s)
    51.6%
  2. No

9 vote(s)
    29.0%
  3. Rarely

6 vote(s)
    19.4%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fromthatshow

fromthatshow Staff Alumni

I was wondering if anybody else lies to make it sound like their life is more interesting than it is. I don't necessarily lie but I will fabricate the truth. Add details that aren't true. I am a musician and I always make it seem like I spend way more time working on music than I actually do. Part of it is that people don't need to hear every detail of my depressing life, but part of it is essentially lying so people won't lose respect for me. I fabricate details of things that have happened to me too to make it sound interesting. It's gotten me in trouble once or twice. I'm also on social security because of mental illness. And I'm only 21. So I've had to lie about that a few times as well.

Do you guys lie to make your life seem more interesting than it is? I'm not saying it's a good or bad thing. Maybe it is necessary to stretch the truth before you really get to know someone in order to not turn people off right away.

2. IV2010

IV2010 Well-Known Member

No I don't lie because I wouldn't be able to remember what I'd said so would end up giving myself away in the end....:)

3. yous

yous Well-Known Member

Well I lie when people ask, "so how are you?" I say, "I'm fine". I lie about that because I am never fine. In fact sometimes I feel worse, much worse, but I lie that I am.

As for details in my life, I have lied before, but its' not so extreme as to the point I wouldn't be able to prove it/get away with it.

4. gakky1

gakky1 Well-Known Member